Talking About One’s Death

Perhaps I should have entitled this post, “Talking About My Death!” There are signs in our death and dying evading society that ever so slowly people are coming out of the closet of corporate death timidity or fear. Surprise, surprise, we are all going to die! Rather than running like mad and ignoring the rest of this post let’s calm down as we continue. This will be an ongoing discussion as we grow and share together.
Not only has many or most evangelical type churches not kept up with the aging of the Baby Boomers or “seniors adult” issues for instance, but many are woefully negligent in helping people die well. Much of the emphasis has been on such things as “living well” or “living a victorious life”! This is all good and well and is certainly “part” of what church teaching is about. We have also sadly not developed a theology of dying as a balanced view of the life.
I am not out to turn people against church life or following life as Jesus Christ called His people to. I have worked serving people for a long time now including within church communities. I am however willing to say Christians in North America for the most part have adopted the death evading attitude of the rest of society. I’m not sure if this pattern will continue and hopefully church leaders will begin to take the ministry needs of their congregations related to aging more seriously. This includes the very important reality of death and dying.
I mention the statements above not to upset anyone, especially church leaders (pastor types, etc.) but to encourage the church community to catch a vision to turn things around and face death and dying issues head on. A number of years ago I came to a point in my life and ministry to hopefully be part of changing our culture’s views on death and dying, including that of many church communities. One of these ways was to confront my own hesitancy to consider personal mortality. I came to understand more and more that I too one day will die. There will be a point in time for me to die. Flowers will still grow and the seasons will continue to change but I will not be around to enjoy them. This is very sobering and also very emotionally healthy to contemplate.
I will go on with this discussion again soon in another post. For now, I hope those who read this post will at least reflect on it a bit for one day you will die as well.

2 thoughts on “Talking About One’s Death

  1. Death was scary to me for many years…then upon losing AVA it has had an appeal to me that I never knew I could feel comfortable with. I think of it as a part of a process as I think of every other process in life. It is definitely going to happen to all of us….There isn’t a one of us getting out of here alive! Very good writing, Alan!

    Like

    1. Thank you for commenting Molly! I appreciate your words and encouragement. I’m hoping to develop this as I get used to blogging. Take care. What do you mean when you say “I never knew I could feel comfortable” when it comes to death?

      Like

Leave a Reply

